SEND IT!!!

“Got kitesurfing on the mind, mixed with some search & classification tech, and a dab of political ranting”

Day 5: Ommmmmm…

Posted by direwolff on February 10, 2005

Last night two new guests from the Bay area joined the adventure. Brit and I were acquainted from Sherman Island kiting out by Rio Vista, his buddy John was a new acquaintance. Both were, needless to say, very psyched to experience Costa Rican kitesurfing.

We all got up pretty early, around 7:30am, and the conditions looked like yesterday’s afternoon weather…perfect 11m riding. Decided to by-pass breakfast and went right down to pump up. By 8:20am, I was out gettin’ my groove on :-) Didn’t last long on the 11m kite before the winds picked up and forced me to the smaller kite. No worries, spent 30 mins pumping up and getting a quick fix of fresh pineapples, then right back into the drink…but this time, the epic session lasted a full 2 hours. Only quit to get some rest for the afternoon session, otherwise it would have been easy to go for the full 3 hour sesion.

Had a relaxing and leisurely lunch, once again excellently prepared by Emily. It had the perfect consistency to put one in the right frame of mind. Ended up spending nearly 4 hours from 11:30am to 3:15pm recuperating. Had to even go so far as to take an Ibuprofen to get me past the sore muscles, but sure enough high tide was calling us out :-)

Here’s a small medley of pics from the spiritual ride. The “Om” title of this posting is related to what I was feeling shortly after the following pics were taken. As I said this word out loud, it resonnated finely with my environments and the echo of that sound and carried through the air in a mystical way. This was all made more surreal by the fact that as I said this I could see a school of fish in the clear water below me. Too much for the senses to experience all once.


“Who’s a happy camper?! — OK, enough smiles, I gotta get out there!”


“Jeff and Brit checking out the action from the perch at KiteHouse.”


Wish there was a way to bottle up these amazing sensations for all of you to just download and experience for yourself. Today was by far the best day to-date with a full day of epic wind conditions. Amazing, it just keeps getting better…

Leave a comment