SEND IT!!!

“Got kitesurfing on the mind, mixed with some search & classification tech, and a dab of political ranting”

She said “YES!”

Posted by direwolff on October 2, 2005

After a month and a half of wanting to do this, after various last minute issues conspiring against my plans, I was able to surmount all of this to finally ask my Lil’ Pinot if she’d have me as her husband. Yep, that’s right, I proposed and she accepted…yippeee!!!

We went to Christophe’s Restaurant in Sausalito (pictured above) where we had a wonderful dinner with a light bordeaux and tasty port to end the evening (otherwise called courage builders). From there, we decided that we were pretty full and a walk in the cool evening would do us some good. Though she’s from the Bay area, Lil’ Pinot had never been to the top of the Marin Headlands where you can oversee the Golden Gate Bridge. Since this was on our way home, we decided to take the detour and head for the top. With a 1/4 mile left to go, there was a gate closing the road, so unimpeded, we jumped out of the Jeep, grabbed my flashlight and a jacket for Lil’ Pinot (from which I had to slyly pull out the ring before handing it to her, which was no easy feat), and walked to the top.

It was perfect, no fog, a clear view of the city lights, the Bay and the Golden Gate Bridge, with an associated serenity that begged for the romantic moment. We sat on a bench that offered the breathtaking scenery as a gift from the Headlands to Lil’ Pinot and I…and then, it was time to pull the trigger. We shared some words on how much we loved each other, the clear signal from a greater force that it was time to act, and with dutiful abandon I dropped to a knee and dove straight in to my proposal to Lil’ Pinot. The gleam in her eye was priceless, like she was trying to figure out if this was for real while at the same time realizing that it was and it was now up to her to respond. And just like that, the words that will forever ring my head as my fondest memory of that moment, came through with a caring and loving smile, “yes, of course I accept”…and now I could breathe again) I then reached over and grabbed the ring which I had placed under the arm rest of the bench, opened it and placed the ring on Lil’ Pinot’s finger. The ring I got her is called a “cocktail ring” as I want her to pick out her own engagement ring given that she’ll have to live with it for the rest of her life, so she’d better like it.

It was such a wonderful moment, which we extended by enjoying it to its fullest in this romantic place just holding each other with childlike glee. It was like we didn’t want it to end.

I can already hear or imagine the comments from the peanut gallery:

  • “Geez, about time”
  • “Didn’t think you had it in you”
  • “Are you nuts, didn’t we talk about this?”
  • “The permanent bachelor goes down”

Well, I can already tell you all that all of these thoughts also went through my mind (several times), but I long ago came to terms with these thoughts because when you find your soulmate nothing else seems to matter (spoken like a fool blinded by love). Well, this new chapter should definitely be interesting and I enthusiastically embrace the opportunities and challenges that will come with it, and the idea that the “I” and “me” have been turned in the “we” and “us”.

With this, I’d like to also thank all of my friends who have been so supportive for all of these years, and for those of you who have yet to meet her, I look forward to introducing you to Lil’ Pinot so you can see the light in her that I found and get to enjoy every day for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

 
