SEND IT!!!

“Got kitesurfing on the mind, mixed with some search & classification tech, and a dab of political ranting”

Union Square Ventures Sessions…or “Where in the world is Tribe’s Mark Pincus?”

Posted by direwolff on October 21, 2005

So here I was minding my own business this evening reading up on some of my favorite blogs when I came across a link on Fred Wilson's blog to his Union Square Ventures wiki.  It was great reading the notes on what some really interesting and smart people had to say.  The sessions were billed in the following way:

Today we hosted the first of what we hope will be many conversations about the impact of information technology on our society, our economy and on the business of venture capital.
There was also a link to their Flickr photo album where I was amusing myself seeing several people that I know, some that I know more by reputation, and one that I only recently (two weeks ago actually) met. 

Just when I thought I'd seen it all, I flash to the next picture and sure enough Tribe's once faithful leader, Mark Pincus, appeared in the flesh.

 

It was just a few weeks ago that I was checking out his blog pics from his recent African safari, and even less than that, that I heard he was at Web 2.0.  Boy, keeping up with Mark (or Pincus sightings) could have the makings of its own blog or wiki, perhaps something analogous to the game, "Where in the world is Carmen San Diego".  

Well, it was cool to see him caught for posterity in that endearing pose that those of us who have worked closely with him have come to…fear.  Yes fear, because you know that it's during these moments that his next stroke of genius will come shining through and force a total reset of everything you believed only moments before his comment was uttered.  Keeping up with Mark is not for the light-hearted.  He definitely deserved to be included with this group of luminaries and I'm sure he was a solid contributor (and got his "air time").

Leave a Reply

 
