SEND IT!!!

“Got kitesurfing on the mind, mixed with some search & classification tech, and a dab of political ranting”

Two weeks ’til my snowkiting weekend

Posted by direwolff on January 15, 2007

Boy have I been jonesing for some kitesurfing. Tried to go out a couple of weeks ago, but with the temperatures dipping in the 40 degree range, the cold water and the windchill factor playing a role, the thought of getting into a wetsuit and into the drink was more than one of my good riding buddies and I wanted to endure.

Well, now I’m on pins and needles in anticipation of what should be a great trip to Skyline Ridge, Utah for some awesome snowkiting. Jeff Kafka, a well known local Bay Area kitesurfer & surfer, turns his attention to snowkiting in the winter season and his school, Wind Over Water, focuses on providing some easy to deal with packages for snowkiting lessons and good times. He’s been one of the early kitesurfing and now snowkiting pioneers, and put together great on-location accommodations, as well as other amenities to make it easy on those wanting to get started in this new sport to experience it with pleasure.

Lil’ Pinot and I are barely able to stay contained with the clock ticking towards our early departure in a couple of weeks for the mountains. Lil’ Pinot in particular is looking forward to trying her hand at snowkiting on skis given that she’s an exceedingly proficient skier already. For me, it will be on a snowboard and while I know to expect a different ride, the combination of my snowboarding and kitesurfing background prepares me well for this very cool new twist on a couple of familiar sports. Suffice it to say, we will definitely get some good photos to bring back and blog about.

Now let’s see if I can keep focusing on work so as to take my mind off this killer sport. If you want some idea of what it looks like, here’s a video that should satisfy your curiosity.

Yes, I know, it’s totally cool looking isn’t it? Now let’s get ready to SEND IT!!!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Two weeks ’til my snowkiting weekend”

  1. Ken Berger said

    That looks hard-f’in-core…

  2. For some reason I thought you said “snowknitting” ……..

Leave a Reply

 
