SEND IT!!!

“Got kitesurfing on the mind, mixed with some search & classification tech, and a dab of political ranting”

Conceptual Kite Driven Watercraft

Posted by direwolff on June 8, 2008

A friend just pointed me to this new concept watercraft…

You can check out more pictures of this kite driven watercraft here.

After looking at all the pictures and understanding more or less how it works, I’m in a bit of a quandary trying to figure out where the fun part is.  OK, so the kite is pulling me at speed, say 15-25 kts and I dive the watercraft below the surface which then automatically resurfaces.  All this while sitting on it like a high speed motorcycle.  It’s clear that I’m missing something because I just don’t get it.  I’d rather be kiting.  If getting submerged is the fun part, that’s pretty easy to pull off with a body drag.  Buying what will surely be an expensive toy to get the sensation I can get without that just doesn’t seem to make sense to me.  Oh well.  My bigger question is how does the kite get relaunched if it falls from the sky?  That should be interesting.

This seems like a craft better left in the conceptual stage.

Leave a Reply

 
